Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest wrightymon

Lego Block Model Render (LeoCad Model)

Guest wrightymon
  • Topic Author
  • Hi All,

Just wondering if I could call on somebody's expertise. I'm quite new to cinema4D and struggling to find away round this, I've created a model in LeoCad a lego building block software, and wanted to import to cinema but find the basic polyon meshes from the CAD software give really harsh straight edges, is there a way to add a small round to lugs/studs and smooth circles of the round pieces. I've tried adjusting the angle limit within the phong tag which helps a bit with the segmented shading but didn't help with the polygon rounds. I've tried adding hypernurbs which effects and distorts the whole piece, It rounds the studs but doesn't round the edges.  Is there a way to add to achieve this without going into each lug and piece adding slices and chamfering torestrict the hypernurbs. I was wondering if there would be anything in a material setting which may help with the realism. Ideally I like to get the model smoother along the lines of the DeLorean model. Thanks

Screen Shot 2017-09-21 at 10.36.10.png

Screen Shot 2017-09-21 at 10.35.57.png

Screen_Shot_2017-09-21_at_10_34_39.png

21103.png

The trouble is you are trying to do subdivision surface based operations on a mesh that has been built with total disregard for that workflow ! The only truly correct way to do this properly is to remodel it with all quads and proper control loops so that it works nicely with bevels and  / or subdivision. 

But it may be possible to rescue what you have, although it will still be some manual work. Start with a complete all-points optimize command to make sure there are no stray points or unconnected surfaces. then select all polys again, and make sure the normals are correct all over the model (use reverse / align normals if they are blue rather than orange facing the camera).