Sign in to follow this  
Guest JKhali

Cinema 4D Rigging & Character Tutorials?

Guest JKhali

Good day everyone!

My name's Justin. I'm a AB-Animation student all the way down east in the Philippines.

I recently purchased/learned and also had a seminar all about Cinema 4D (our teacher was Mr. Lars Scholten) and I plan on using it to complete my thesis.

My thesis is a 3D animated movie short.

I was wondering if anyone here knew where I could find tutorials and even paid classes where I can learn more about the program? It's actually really hard to find tutorials about character animation and environmental design. Yet, you can do it pretty well in C4D.

Any help from any good Samaritan would be most appreciated!

Cheers everyone!

Hello and welcome to the cafe...

There are lot of character animation tutorials, both free and paid, and a good few environment design ones as well if you know where to look.

Generally there is always a free option available on youtube or vimeo somewhere but you have to watch a lot of individual disparate tutorials to gain a decent overview. But the free video channels are very helpful when you need to know about something specific, so then it's just about choosing the right search terms...

But if you want step-by-step, thorough / comprehensive courses, then the paid options are probably the way to go.

You should know that in order to work with character animation you also need to be competent at modelling, UVing, texturing, lighting, and animation first, so perhaps watch some of the more comprehensive beginner series' to give you a program overview before you pay for more advanced stuff. Greyscale Gorilla have a good few of those.

After that, first up has to be MAXON USA's Cineversity, where you will have free premium membership if you bought the MSA with your version of the software, but can pay for it separately if you didn't. 

Then, Pluralsight have several CA and environment tutorials, as do cmivfx