Guest TeamZissou

Advice on business card texture

Guest TeamZissou

Hi Guys,

Can anyone advise on how to best approach creating this texture?

I'm a complete C4D novice but I've somehow managed to create a half decent model and I'm now just struggling with this texture a little. 

The best way I can describe it is a very low gloss plastic/laminated business card. I've attached two examples. You can see there is a repeating pattern visible, not sure if this is design or just a visible printer ink pattern.

I'm using R17.

Thanks in advance!

Example.jpg

Example 2.jpg

I don't think there is any kind of procedural noise that can match this exactly, although something like displaced voronoi might be close enough if you don't get too close to it. But if you do have to go all the way in with your camera then your best bet might be to take a very high resolution top-down photo of the substrate and use that in the color channel instead, or perhaps even make a greyscale version of it to be very subtly applied in the bump channel, where you could tweak delta down to get incredibly fine detail.

What remains more of a challenge would be how to get that subtle heliotropic oily type finish we can see in your reference - in R17 I don't think you have the thin film shader which is what I'd try first to get this look. Without that there is probably something you can do with fresnel or spectral to fake this effect.

CBR

To add to @Cerbera suggestions, you could as he suggested, take a high resolution photo, then make a seamless pattern using Photoshop (or similar) as it seems like a fairly straight forward repeated pattern. I think you'd only need to recreate a few actual shapes and then repeat. You could then create a type of chromatic aberration effect by offsetting the RGB channels slightly to get the "oily" type finish if you don't have the Film Shader.

Guest TeamZissou
36 minutes ago, Cerbera said: