katm

How Should I Export for a Movie Theater?

katm    0

I was asked to make a short animation for a film festival that will play before the each screening in a movie theater. I am pretty new to using Cinema4d and After Effects and am wondering what kind of export settings I should use in each program. My workflow involves creating scenes in C4d and then editing/compositing in After Effects.  Many whom I've asked simply suggest exporting 1920x1080 pixles.

So far the settings I've been using to render in c4d are:

1920x1080 pixles

300 dpi

TIFF (psd layers)

8 bit

Then I bring in the sequence to After Effects and after editing/compositing export as an .mov file. 

Any thoughts on this? I'd hate to render/edit an entire animation and then find out that it looks terrible upon projection. Apologies if this is a newbie question I have literally never done this before. 

Many thanks!

ABMotion    118

You need to render out the resolution required and specified by the theater and their projection system. This is information you need to ask for from the festival organisers or the theater and not ask in forums.

It is important to check as most digital theaters are either 2K or 4K resolution. 1920x1080 is more home resolution, but it does depend on the theater and projector being used. You may even find that they provide something other than a 16:9 format which doesn't mean you need to use it, but it's something to consider. Most projectors can scale a lower resolution video without too much issue if you were to output 1920x1080, but it could affect the quality of the finished output.

The only setting you have in there that is unnecessary is 300 dpi. You can leave it at the default of 72 dpi for screen. It doesn't really matter, but it's just an unnecessary change you've made for screen outputs. DPI is a measure for print output, not screen.