lasagna

Character Binding issues

lasagna    0

Hey guys so im pretty new to Cinema 4d and I've been having some issues with binding & animating my character, the legs work fine and i can even animate a walk cycle but the upper body and arms are completely useless? I've rebuilt the rig 5 or so times and i cannot figure out the issue here and would love some feedback. 

here is the project file http://www.mediafire.com/file/3gu4nk3q3qaa06g/for_review.zip 

Rectro    536

Hi

I had a quick look without going into much depth, and there are some very important things you have missed, and that start with modelling.  This mesh is not suitable for animation its a mess to put it bluntly.  You need to forget about rigging and animation if you intend to use your own models like this, and learn how to model correctly.

Second issue is the scale of the mesh, its way too big unless you wanted it to be over 4 meters tall, thats a 14 foot tall person.  While you can make a giant in C4D lighting, hair, dynamics will all react different and unless you intended to make a 14 feet giant, get the character down to real world scale, but not this one, the mesh is no good for animation, too many polygons, too many triangles. tons of polls where 1 verticy is shared by 5 or more polygons, and stretched triangles, some over lapping.

The model needs to be constructed with care and attention to form and function.  For form you need to have some basic anatomy understanding and have some kind of plan, or design.  For function you need to have animation ready limbs with loops of edges in the right places, elbows, shoulder, knees, groin, ankles.