sphinxmoth

Displacement - material problem

Hi,

I'm a C4D beginner, and I'm having an issue when using displacement via the displacement channel when creating a material (I'm using Octane in this example). But if I'm not mistaking I had the same problem when using the C4D physical renderer.  <-- EDIT: nope, after testing it works fine in the standard CD4 material editor!

Basically, my problem is that as soon as I add a displacement texture/map in the channel, the polygon faces of whatever object the material is applied to get "split" apart, creating gaps, which of course I don't want. The higher the displacement settings are, the larger these gaps are. 

Attached are two pictures which, I hope, will help you understand the problem I'm having. The first is a basic platonic shape with some texture applied to it (no displacement), and the second one is the same platonic but with displacement added in the materials channel, with a height of about 10cm.

I think when I'm using the Deformer method (instead of putting the displacement map/texture in the materials channel), I don't get that problem. But I'm not sure why, it would be great if it could work in the materials channel, especially with Octane, which is really great for managing displacement maps.

Thanks a lot!

AoNKoUT.jpgNdMAjX0.jpg

Hello, and welcome to the cafe :)

Is it possible somehow that your surfaces are not connected to each other ? Eliminate this as a possibility by selecting all points and optimizing. But this may not be the problem. I couldn't replicate the problem using  Standard Renderer, so I suspect it is something to do with Octane's displacement, and I don't have that so can't check.

It would easier to advise if we had the scene file. Please can you upload it ? (Zip it first if it is too big).

CBR

• Topic Author
  • Hi Cerbera, thanks a lot for the quick reply!

I just tried the Optimize method after making the platonic shape editable, but unfortunately it didn't work...