Sign in to follow this  
Cynni

Adding bones to character object

Hi,

I'm currently trying to rig my character. I'm fairly new to C4D and I have some problems.

It's a bunny I try to rig with the character object and the alan rig template. The rig has no bones for arms and ears so I want to add them but I don't really know how to.

I made joints with the joint tool and added them to the existing hierarchy and then I added the mesh to the binding tab. But the arms and ears are not affected by the joints I made. Also when I try to weight the character and subtract some of the color it just adds it. 

A little bit stressing now, it's for a school project and I'm not making any progress.

If someone could help me. Would be much appreciated!

--Cynthia

Bunny1.c4d

I had a look at your setup, you need to make sure that all the new joints are added to the weight tag and paint the weights to the new joints. The other problem you have is that the ears mesh doesn't have enough loops to allow for the joints to bend the ears. Also, the bunny mesh wasn't at world zero.

i also noticed that the head has five joints you only need one neck and one head joint unless you intending to bend the head .

• Topic Author
  • 1 hour ago, digitvisions said:

I had a look at your setup, you need to make sure that all the new joints are added to the weight tag and paint the weights to the new joints. The other problem you have is that the ears mesh doesn't have enough loops to allow for the joints to bend the ears. Also, the bunny mesh wasn't at world zero.

i also noticed that the head has five joints you only need one neck and one head joint unless you intending to bend the head .

Thank you for answering.

Didn't know this at all. I made the rig with the character object so I thought it was ok that way.