Sign in to follow this  
Push

1st render in Redshift

This is my first attempt at Redshift, really speedy.

Not sure this image really does Redshift justice, it doesn't look quite right, probably needs some dirt/ambient occlusion.

What do you think?

5a87f77d29792_Commercial20181v2.thumb.jpg.625bbdc7583bad85d8c12fbf888b45d3.jpg

That's terrible bathroom design :)

But it's a nice clean, pleasing render. You're right - needs some real-world filth, but apart from that, looking good !

CBR

It’s a decent first pass. I agree that right now all the surfaces look too perfect, which breaks the realism. Needs more rounded edges, more dirt, more bump, more irregularity. You don’t necessarily need textures. You can most likely do it all procedurally with AO, curvature, and noise nodes. 

Also it seems to be mostly front lit, which usually flattens things and makes them look even more unreal. 

The great thing about Redshift: it’s so fast, you can continue iterating and figuring out what works / what doesn’t without it taking forever. So you’ll get more comfortable with it quickly.  

You should visit the Redshift club here. There’s a lot of information that should help get you on the right track. 

Am I correct in reading the product page to mean that after paying for a permanent license there's a $250 yearly maintenance fee that, if not paid, the software will not function?

Or does the product page mean that keeping the maintenance current means you'll be able to use any new version but if you don't paythe maintenance fee you'll still be able to use the version you bought.

7 minutes ago, arail said:

Or does the product page mean that keeping the maintenance current means you'll be able to use any new version but if you don't paythe maintenance fee you'll still be able to use the version you bought.

Redshift licenses are permanent so the license itself does not expire. You just can't get updates after the expiration date of any maintenance agreement.