Sign in to follow this  
ninjad

Redshift Skin Material

I'm new to Redshift and I'm trying to figure out how to do a skin material that has a diffuse, specular, bump, displacement & sub-surface map.

I'm able to get the diffuse, spec, bump, and displacement maps layered together in a basic material, but I can't figure out how SSS fits into the output.

When I look at an example RS SSS/Skin material, I see an SSS/Skin node directly linked to the Surface port of the Output node. How are you supposed to use it in conjunction with a regular RS Material node if it also needs to connect to the Surface port?

I noticed the Multi-SSS input ports in the RS Material node, but when I try and feed the Out Color of an RS SSS node to an Ms Color port the material goes black.

• Topic Author
  • Actually I think I might have gotten it.

In the RS Material node, under the Multi-SSS tab, I turned up the amount, then added an Ms Color port and fed the SSS map into it.

My mistake was adding an SSS node in between the texture map and the Ms Color port.

If anybody has any input feel free.

Also while I'm on the topic, if anyone can explain the difference between an SSS node, Skin node, and using Multi-SSS in the Material node that would be helpful.

Hi there Ninjad,

I've been using Redshift since August last year, I'm far from an expert but have slowly managed to build up an understanding of the shaders. I understand your questions as I also had the exact same ones a few months ago.

Firstly the difference between the 3 SSS nodes.

The SSS nodes and Skin nodes are legacy shaders. That is to say, early on in Redshifts development the SSS node was the only Subsurface scattering node available. Then they created a SSS Skin node to better emulate the different layers of skin. This was a little difficult to use for some users.