Adept

IK Wrist Joint Maintain Rotation?

Hi! I have been working on animating characters holding rifles for a project... I have been having a pretty hard time figuring out the best setup for the arm/hand/gun rig to get it to do exactly what I want it to. I am not too good at explaining it, but I want to use IK to control the position of the hands (simply because it is easier and looks better), but I want the wrists to stay in relative rotation values to the rifle unless I edit/animate them. My main issue is in trying to figure out the hierarchy and constraining here. What I want to happen (in order) is:

1) Right hand goal/right hand wrist rotation controls the position/rotation of the rifle

2) Gun moves with right hand correctly

3) Left hand stays 'glued' to its set position on the rifle, and stays there as I move the right hand and consequently the rifle around

I have parts 1 and 2 figured out (that was easy) but figuring out how to keep the left hand not only at the same relative position as the rifle, but also maintain its rotation and contact points on the rifle the same. Here's a gif to show the issue:

https://gyazo.com/8fa39c430527df3b144a5bb4ec15c79c

The left hand target null follows the rifle fine. But as you see, the hand does not look to be 'gripping' the rifle, it just slides around. My heirarchy goes something like this:

>right hand goal

>hips

>other bones leading down to right hand wrist

>rifle

>left hand goal

I have tried removing the left hand goal from the bone hierarchy and using a PSR tag in a few different ways with no success. I'm sure there has to be a way to get this to work, anyone got any ideas? 

Thanks!