bass

Anyone render successfully on a laptop?

Hey there,

I am researching laptops for the best rendering times & am looking for recommendations - anyone have a great set up? 

After doing some research & finding that the recommended ram is 64GB I realise that most laptops are considered sub par for most rendering jobs.  My problem is I am a freelancer so I am expected to go into offices so a desktop pc is out of the question.  I have been informed by MAXON that using net render over a wireless connection is not recommended so I am fresh out of ideas.

What is everybody's experiences and are there any success stories with laptops?

Thank you.

hey Bass,

If you're using a built in render engine w C4D (Pro Render aside), you're talking about CPU power.  The more cores and the greatest frequency will be your best bet, but you'll need to find a balance. 

If this is going to be your daily driver, bear in mind that the majority of tools in C4D are single core (exceptions existing, of course, such as the hair module which are threaded).  For single core operations, you'll want to get the highest core frequency you can get, regardless of core count.  However, when it comes to render times, core count will trump frequency.

Unless you're planning on using Pro Render or a 3rd party renderer, the GPU doesn't make much difference (obviously other applications will differ; After Effects for example).

I wouldn't go out of your way to get 64gb of ram.  Ram will not improve render times or viewport performance.  Both Physical and Standard renderers in C4D use the CPU, not even GPU.  So make sure the CPU is where you're spending your money.  If 64gb doesn't break the bank, go for it.  Otherwise 32gb will be perfectly fine. (Personally, I have 16gb and I work just fine.)