Sign in to follow this  
Yohnson

Sperm movement animation

Yohnson    1

Hello,

I was wondering what the best way to create a sperm moving forward with the realistic tail movements. I found this reference of the kind of thing I want to achieve (see the shot at 30 - 33 seconds): 

Would this have to be a rigged model to get the 'tail flicks' ? and have it following a spline path for the movement?.. This would be my wild guess but I'm completely new to animation in C4D and any tips / tricks / Suggestions /  tutorials would be amazing.

Thank you in advance :)

Cerbera    1,898

I think I'd have a go with the wind deformer first ! Hang on - let me a do a small test or 2...

CBR

Cerbera    1,898

Yep, that's working nicely, and could be perfect with a little tweaking.

Built my sperm down the Z axis, used wind deformer (but had to rotate it 90 degrees) with an inverse spherical falloff encompassing the 'head' area  keeping that still while the tail goes nuts.

5aef4b6b025aa_spermmotion.thumb.gif.9df3ed460b4f4f5e1eac0c0688017712.gif

CBR

Yohnson    1
  • Topic Author
  • 22 minutes ago, Cerbera said:

Yep, that's working nicely, and could be perfect with a little tweaking.

Built my sperm down the Z axis, used wind deformer (but had to rotate it 90 degrees) with an inverse spherical falloff encompassing the 'head' area  keeping that still while the tail goes nuts.

5aef4b6b025aa_spermmotion.thumb.gif.9df3ed460b4f4f5e1eac0c0688017712.gif

CBR

Thank you. That's great!

And this way it's possible to have it moving forward too? Going out now but gonna give this a try later! Thank you again!

Cerbera    1,898

No, the forward movement  has to be done separately, most usefully along a spline, via the align to spline tag...

By keyframing its progress along the spline and the frequency of the wind deformer, you can make it either swim forward constantly, or in little bursts if that's more what you want...

CBR

Yohnson    1
  • Topic Author