Sign in to follow this  
ArtBook

Redshift and C4D - In over my head?

So, last year I spent all summer learning the basics of cinema 4D, lighting, rigging, texturing, best practices, rendering and 3rd party render engines. 

I hit a brick wall in terms of what the usefulness of 3D is for me and in turn lost a lot of the initial ambition I had with the software. 3D is very intriguing to me, there is so much potential to make a finished product in a relatively short amount of time. Something that used to take teams of people can be accomplished by one person. It's an exciting time to be learning these techniques that can apply to everything from video production to full on art composition. 

I started learning with the Physical renderer it's steadfast approach and easy to manipulate switches and levers made the way a 3D image is composed really easy to grasp and affect. For a long time I made really poorly optimized renders and then learned about samples and light bounce and how to more efficiently render my images...I never quite finished learning all of the modeling basics, I mostly played with scenes that were half finished and followed step-by-step tutorials. Coming away from these long tutorials I felt like everyone was covering the same basic tools and ways to do things. 

At this point I felt like I needed to switch render engines for speed and realtime viewing of materials and to better understand what affected what. I tried Corona, Arnold and Redshift. Having a GTX 1070 I stuck with Redshift but quickly felt lost, I'm feeling like I'm in over my head...something that was super simple in Physical is now 10x as difficult to accomplish for me in Redshift. I love how fast things instantly update and I love how lowering all of the samples can make things perfect for previewing...but what do you do when you feel like you've vested so much time, money and energy into a skill and you find that you're not really sure what you should do to move forward?