Hey, you need a renderfarm? If that's the case, make sure you check this topic for more info! 

Sign in to follow this  
willcongfu

Moving Objects Vertex to Vertex

willcongfu    0

Hey y'all. I'm a beginner who has done most of my modeling in Rhino. This might be a simple question but I haven't been able to find a clear answer to:

How to move one object's corner to snap to another object's corner?

I have looked into arrange - aligning / centering but was wondering if there is a simpler method for this. Snapping seems to allow me to snap to various edges/ centers / faces of other objects from the center of the selected object but I would like to snap from edge to edge or corner to corner.

Thank you for your time! 

snapping.JPG

Cerbera    1,976

Because all of Cinema's object transforms happen around the object axis, you just need to move that axis (axis mode) so it is on the corner you want to snap to of the object you will be moving. Then, once you turn snapping on (vertex, 3D) you will be able to drag that object over to the other one and align to specific points on it. Note: for this to work don't grab the individual axis handles to move it, as movement on just one axis cannot snap to a point if it's not precisely on that vector. Instead grab the object so that you have free movement in all directions, and then snapping can work properly.

So to move box 1's chosen point to Box 2's chosen point the stages would be:

1. Make sure the source object (Box 1) is an editable poly so you can access the points... (Target object can remain parametric).
  2. Object 1, Axis mode, Vertex Snap on, click targeted point, which will move the object axis to it. Exit Axis Mode.
  3. Keeping vertex snapping on, and NOT using the axis handles, drag Object 1 over the selected point on Object 2, and it should snap to it as intended.

Watch that happening here...