C4DS

New plugin - PointLess

I am working on a new plugin, and would like to query for user interest.

Background info:
I am not an expert at modeling, but from time to time I create some objects for short stories I am making, or other projects I am working on.
For the past 2 years or so, I have spent most of my time writing some plugins. As such I didn't quite follow the progress of modeling tools (or lack thereof) in the recent Cinema 4D releases. Recently I was creating a mesh, representing a faceted low-poly gnome to be used as illustration for one of my plugins, when I noticed that removing polygons still left orphaned points behind. Same behaviour as always, from the early days I worked with Cinema, till the last time I modeled something before focusing on plugin writing, and then even today.

So, over the span of 10 Cinema 4D releases (R9 - R19), nothing seems to have changed regarding this behaviour.

Now, I can understand some of the reasoning behind the current behaviour.
Still, I wonder how many requests I have submitted to MAXON over the years, to provide an option to allow the user to decide if orphan points should, or should not be removed automatically when deleting polygons.
I don't know what R20 will bring, but I didn't want to wait any longer for MAXON to provide said option, and decided to write my own plugin to perform the task of removing these orphan points ... while providing an option to do so or keep the current behaviour (avoiding the need of removing the plugin when user wants to switch between these different behaviours).

The plugin:
It's a free R17-R19 plugin, currently Windows only, but will be made available for MacOS when time permits.
It might also become available for R16, but nothing promised at this time.
The plugin is document based, and simply runs in the background. No user interaction is required, as removal of orphan points is done automatically, whatever mode the user is working in.