cormaction

Mirror Limbs using the Character tool?

Hi guys,

Forgive me if this has come up before but I can't find an answer after searching around for a bit. I'm new to C4Dd but not to 3D in general so I should probably know better! However, the probably I'm having is, after diving in to playing with the character tool without reading up on it (I like to see how intuitive C4D) I started rigging using the reptile preset. I now know that you need to shift click to add mirrored limbs while you're creating them but I didn't know that at the time. So now I have half a lizard! Is there any way to mirror the limbs I've already set up? I've tried to use the mirror joint tool but I suspect that's just for regular joints. Thanks guys.

Hi

Assuming you havent started repositioning the limbs one side you simply go into the object manager where you see the character components listed.  Select the root (Pelvis), or (spine) object and it shows the components that are available from that stage, you can then add the missing limbs.  Because its a modular system each component will only allow you to add the next component which will be a child of that object. So if you for instance forgot to add a toe, you must first select the leg for the toe component to be visible as a option.

Dan

Thanks for getting back to me Dan much appreciated. Unfortunately I had moved all the joints into position already. I'm used to using Gear for Softimage and Maya where you can just work away on one limb and mirror it at any stage. That would be handy here too! 

cormaction

You can add the limbs on the other side. What you should have done though is create an Xref of your reptile in a new scene so that you have a master file that you can edit and make changes to, doing all the animation in the Xref scene file.