sombear

Arched Window Question

Hi all-

I'm quite new to C4d, I have a good understanding of the basics, but where my knowledge lacks is in good modeling techniques. I've been trying to figure out how to best model an arched window (image attached), but can't quite find the cleanest method. I've tried starting from a spline imported from an .ai file, extruding and modeling from there. I've tried starting from a basic polygon. The biggest problem I run into is when I try to extrude I often get overlapping edges in the arched sections of the model. Any insight into a good starting point for something like this would be greatly appreciated! I've found only a couple tutorials that get close to what I'm trying to do, but nothing really addresses it exactly.

Thanks!

window.jpg

There are lots of ways of doing this (polypen, start with grid, start with cube, etc.). Personally, I would model the windows and frame separately and use a grid for the windows. You can create the frame from a simple illustrator curve extruded or add a hypernurb to an inset grid. Here is basically how I would do the windows with a sharp edge to the extrude (similar to what you have shown in the frame.

ChurchWindow.jpg

ChurchWindow.c4d

• Like 1

I tried it out using box modeling, a bend deformer, and a symmetry object.  You can see a few of the stages in my file.  I'm no modeling expert, so I wasn't sure how to avoid the triangles at the corners, but they seem to look fine once things are beveled and under a Subdivision Surface.

Arch Window model v1.c4d

• Topic Author
  • Hey thanks for these! I'm going to open them up and check them out. I finally modeled something that was close to what I was going for, but I'm not sure it's the most efficient / clean way of doing it. Attached if anyone is interested in checking it out.

Thanks again!

window_model_v1.c4d