Sign in to follow this  
nandthepand

Print Spreads in C4D

Hey guys,

im a graphic designer, working on a publication. Im planning on importing the publication spreads that I design in indesign, into c4d as jpegs, so that I can layer 3d objects onto of the spread designs. the page measurements need to be accurate when I export from c4d so that the print is consistent. 

my current set up is having a pane, with the spread design mapped to it as a texture. I then have a camera directly above. However I can seem to make the spread fill the render port completely. I have my render settings as the exact measurements/dpi as my indesign file. Is there anyway to perfectly align the pane object and the camera so that the camera viewport is filled by 100% pane.

I hope I have explained this properly il attach some screen shots 

Screenshot 2019-02-04 at 21.13.56.png

• Topic Author
  • Screenshot 2019-02-04 at 21.13.42.jpg

• Topic Author
  • Screenshot 2019-02-04 at 21.15.45.jpg

• Topic Author
  • I have also tried setting the page spread as a background object, this works however I cant then pass objects through it! 

You'd need to set the render output settings to an identical aspect ratio as the imported image. Just checking you've done that...

CBR

• Topic Author
  • 30 minutes ago, Cerbera said:

You'd need to set the render output settings to an identical aspect ratio as the imported image. Just checking you've done that...

CBR

Yes, I believe I’ve done that. The issue now seems to be matching those settings with the cameras. I think 

• Topic Author
  • here's a copy of the render settings, 

Screenshot 2019-02-04 at 22.52.23.png

If you go to the Attributes tab > View > Tinted Border make sure the Border Color is black.  With that making the opacity a higher % should let you see a dark boarder in the viewport so you can exactly match up what you want rendered.

4 minutes ago, Fastbee said: