Sign in to follow this  
bnine

Rigging a strap / chain

Hey guys, I have a question regarding a watch strap I've made. I've seen loads of tutorials on yt on how to rig a chain the best possible way (usually with a cloner), but I can't figure out the best practice on how to rig a strap/chain when the strap "links" are not all the same shape. I've attached a couple of images below:

f2.thumb.PNG.44c232e24c312c57121514c62967a2f1.PNGf1.thumb.PNG.b88d57e4bf83a74174e1bca16b69157b.PNG

As you can see the strap starts of wide and gets more narrow down the line. After the first 5 links it's uniform, meaning every link is the same size. As far as I know a cloner object would not be suitable for this as it's not just one single object I want to object duplicate. I want to animated this with some dynamic, gravity, make it flap and so on and I'm a bit stuck. The white mesh on the left image are from a cloner object I used to get the screenshots for this post. I am still a beginner in C4D. 

Does anyone have any tips? Let me know if there are any question or if anything I wrote was unclear. 

Thank you

Ben

If that was me, things I'd try first include dumping that whole strap into a Connect object (weld off), then spline wrapping it along... you guessed it, a spline. But then you could use Spline Dynamics on that spline to get your waving about and whatnot... you might have to do stuff to avoid twisting, but I have seen this work on similar arrangements...

CBR

Quick test based on @Cerbera's idea.  Some issues to sort out, but a start at least.  Just replace my cloner with your customized geometry under the Connect.

Watch Band Chain Spline Dynamics.c4d

Good one Nate :) Here I tweaked drag up to 10% which seems to fix most of the poly flip issues...

1209612012_SDdrape.thumb.gif.7b9fd24cd3494f9e3d5edbabfb77096a.gif

CBR

• Topic Author