Sign in to follow this  
Amy Sterling

Ideas to improve ruinous mess of meshes?

Hi there!

I'm new to C4D and working on animations for our neuroscience lab. Today am trying to visualize potentiation, the strengthening of synapses (connections between neurons) in the brain. We have reconstructed thousands of neurons at nanoscale resolution from electron microscope images, so the model neuron I am using is a real cell and I'd like to show some of the spines, the projections sticking out, grow and shrink in size.  This is only half of the synapse - they would be connected to another branch that also thickens, but I haven't gotten that far yet.  I've managed this using Bulge

349889517_potentiationlowres.gif.430de8de8dc72d0067799bec3e105adc.gif

but it deforms the stem pretty badly. Here's the project file where I tried also Subdivision Surface and Squash & Stretch, but neither really worked prob because I'm doing it wrong. Any ideas for a better way to do this? 

In the brain, these blobby things get larger with use and smaller/eventually shrink away when they are not used, which is how learning is represented. Here is an example animation showing the other half of the synapse that will at some point be added once I figure out how to make them get bigger/smaller :) https://youtu.be/xJIacDRaCKw?t=12

Thanks for your time!

Amy

Generally speaking things deform badly when the topology is not good enough to support that deformation. And that is indeed the case with your model, which is, I'm afraid to say, a ruinous mess of triangles lacking either the uniformity, density or polygon integrity required to deform well.

The best you can hope for is to select the polys in the relevant part and try and subdivide that a bit further and hope you can get enough resolution to the triangles that their triangular form is no longer apparent in the deformation. Look for the subdivide tool in the right-click menu. Don't forget to tick the smooth button.