Sign in to follow this  
StageFive

Octane - Typical Frame Render Time?

So I know that depending on the scene being rendered and the hardware, this will vary. I'm rendering a scene set up by someone else and the one I'm currently doing is taking 8 minutes per frame. There are about 250 frames in this sequence, so it's going to take a few days to render at this rate.

Latest r20 Studio

Updated Windows 10 to most current (I'm using Windows because something is wrong with CUDA on the Mac side)

All CUDA and Nvidia drivers are the most current

Octane 4 (Latest)

MacPro5,1

GTX 1080 Founders Edition 8Gb

1TB WD Caviar Black 7200 SATA III

32Gb RAM

Upgraded to Xeon X5690 12-Core (Dual 6-Core)

Scene file is 1920 x 1080.

I'm just wondering if this sounds about right for a scene, or does this sound like it's taking longer to render than it typically would? I'm new to GPU rendering. 

Thanks!

Simon

Octane Kernel Settings.JPG

Octane Render Settings.JPG

• Topic Author
  • Thanks for the reply!

I didn't set any of the Octane parameters, they all came pre-set like they are from the motion artist. I haven't had much experience with Octane to know the ins and outs yet. I didn't want to screw up something that was set on purpose. I'll have a look at the adaptive sampling. Is there a reason someone would leave that turned off?

There are six different scenes (one of which is actually broken into two parts for some reason). Each one has different Octane settings on it, which I guess is to be expected in most cases.

Cheers,

Simon

Edit:

I also tried to post on the OTOY forum before posting the question here. It wouldn't let me create a new topic on there. I'm not sure if it's because I'm a new member there or if it's because I have a monthly subscription?