Sign in to follow this  
HiFly

Symmetry | Extrude | Axis

Hi C4D Cafe

I'm new to the Cafe, and C4D and currently working through modelling tutorials. I'm using demo version R20 and have found an anomaly when trying to 'extrude selected' polygons along a symmetry edge. 

I have both the 'clamp polygons on axis' and 'delete polygons on axis' boxes ticked, but I keep generating a dividing polygon along the symmetry edge. I can delete the unwanted polygon when using right angles, but it's causing me an issue when the symmetry line is on a curved edge.

Attached is a screenshot where I have selected the edge of the unwanted polygon.

Any help would be much appreciated, I've given today to trying to find a solution but have come up short.

Thank you

Screenshot-2019-05-25-at-17.38.04.jpg

This shouldn't happen often, but sometimes can, depending on circumstances and weld thresholds, and the nature of the operation you are trying to perform. Usually it is caused by the centreline of edges not being exactly centered and zero scaled or you might need to just raise the threshold a little. Also the Symmetry has to be on and active while you make the modelling move.

But it's not a thing to worry about, and never a serious problem, because you can always just turn symmetry off, and delete those polys yourself before turning it back on again and continuing...

CBR

PS - I very much like your avatar, which suggests you know what's important about modelling :)

• Topic Author
  • Hi CBR

Thanks for taking the time to respond and for commenting on my avatar – the first lesson I've learned is that I've entered the land of four sides. 

Thanks for your advice. Attached are three pictures, as I might be missing something because I can't work this situation out.

The first picture shows that I've checked that all the centre points are at word zero on the z-axis.