Sign in to follow this  
Spencer Fanuka

Whats the best way to learn (anything)

What do you guys think the best way to learn c4d or any software in general is. For instance, Should i start by reading the entire manual first, then practice, or just start experimenting right off the bat. I’m curious to see how you guys have learned. Personally, I learned After Effects by just experimenting and practicing right away and watching lots of youtube tutorials. However, I feel that I missed lots of beginner techniques that could’ve been picked up if I did things differently.

I feel like getting the absolute basics (including basic modeling, animation and the rest) down through tutorials and then just learning the stuff you want (which is how you did it with AE and I did with C4D in general) is probably one of the better ways. Doesn't burn you out as fast and there's little chance of missing some very basic techniques you didn't even know existed.

Hi.

When I started learning 3D software it was much more primitive than what I have now with C4D Studio.  By the time I got to C4D I had a good base to start with but even then I needed to get comfortable with the software, this is very important.  I first like to make sure I can navigate around the software and get a general feel for it.  I would most likely be in demo versions at this point as there is no way id part with cash unless I was 100% sure I will get on with the software, and it will really dose what it says on the tin.  I learned this from years before where id jump on a sale for software that I didn't gell with and it didn't deliver quite what it promoted.  It took me years before I got C4D as at the time I was considering it, it lacked some essential features like native rigging presets and SSS Sub surface Scattering material for skin.  I kept coming back asking questions like has this been added yet, or that been fixed.