• “Great art picks up where nature ends.”  Marc Chagall 

Sign in to follow this  
Stuggz

Sketch and toon with Voronoi Fracture

Hi all, 

I'm pretty new to C4d but learning!

I'm trying to make a structure crack a bit, then smash completely when it hits the ground. Trouble is I'm using Sketch and Toon (for outlines) with a voronoi fracture plus fixed connector, and so the fracture lines show up from the first frame, kinda giving away the ending...!

My first thought was to start from only a small 'point amount' value under the point generator source and then ramping it up when it hits the ground, but that sends the dynamics crazy at the transition point. plus the lines don't show up int he same place so some cracks 'heal' when it breaks into smaller pieces... 

Then I've tried using an animated spline as the source, same problems...

How would you experienced folk do it? Basically have a Voronoi fracture on an object while not having all the cracks show up until the pieces are forced apart... 

Thanks in advance,

S

43 minutes ago, Stuggz said:

How would you experienced folk do it?

I'd be surprised if there is anyone here who is experienced at this particular combo of things ! VF and SnT is certainly a total mystery for me as to what happens there with outlines ! :) I think we're going to need your scene file whatever the case... pls can you upload it ?

PS - I'll remove your dynamics tag from the post - as the problem here doesn't involve that there is no need to tag it as such.

CBR

I am also not that familiar with Sketch & Toon. but i noticed there is a opacity map option. So if you have R20, you could create vertex map on the Voronoi fracture (they even have prexisting vertexmaps, like outside faces, edges etc). And use fields to control the vertex map. Which would then in turn control the Sketch and Toon and when it shows up. 

• Topic Author
  • Ah okay, thanks both of you, I'll give that opacity map technique a go. 

34 minutes ago, Cerbera said: