Sign in to follow this  
StageFive

SVG / Vector Material Possible?

I'm thinking this probably isn't possible, as I already tried to apply several vector formats (ai, svg, pdf) to a a material. I'm new to C4d, so I may be missing something. Modo allows an svg file to be used in a material. Which is good because you can zoom in really close on the UV map without loosing any resolution. I found a plugin (Vector Graphics by Plugins 4d) that looks like it might do it, but they only sell it as part of a bundle. https://www.plugins4d.com/pricing-r20

Does anybody know if there is a way to do this in C4d out of the box? It would make it a lot easier when I need to update some graphics I've done in Illustrator. 

Thanks!

Im not aware you can do that, I believe its only bitmap formats that are supported. You could use the clumsier method of placing the AI file as a smart object in a pshop PSD, tho again you would have to make a rasterised layer of that, a rather meandering route back to your original artwork.

Deck

well... not  directly but you can import vectors from illustrator  with free plugin  https://www.cineversity.com/vidplaylist/cv-artsmart/artsmart_download
And then import individual paths in to  layer shade and ad Chanel Effect/spline an composit it in layere shader . witch is probably too much work it would be cool to have ability  use vectors

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xvk_WJD_BPA
splines  effect 
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSmRS-4BUGM&t=1697s

• Topic Author
  • Thanks for the feedback! I have the cv-artsmart plugin, but I agree that probably more convoluted than just creating a bitmap. It's not that much more terribly difficult, but anything I can do to shave some time down and have less support files floating around the better. I work for a sign company, so I have a lot of different layouts that I swap out or update depending on what the 3d render will be for.