Sign in to follow this  
Hayley Mickleburgh

Mixamorigged character: how to position?

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to C4D, and have gotten stuck trying to create a character who I want to pose in a particular position. I created the (human) character and rigged it in Mixamo. I'm not looking to animate the character, I just want him lying down on his side in a particular scene of an animation I'm working on. When I import the .fbx in C4D I am able to position the body without problem, but when I then try to do anything else, the character reverts to T position... Clearly I am unaware of something super basic but crucial in the workflow, but for the life of me I can't find what the reason for this is...

Help is much appreciated (frustration levels through the roof, hahaha)!

Hayley

Hi

When you bring in a rigged character into C4D  it can have keys added, which Mixamo rig would have for the T pose Im thinking.  The keys are seen in the timeline at the bottom of the UI as small block to the far left, the beginning of a animation. When you then pose a character that already has keys added without putting down new keys (F9 key) for them joints then it will revert to the keys already in place.  You can either delete the keys there in the timeline, or pose the joints then set new keys in place of the keys already there.  If this is not the issue come back and I can help you further to sort this out.  The thing here i what els it is your doing before it reverts back?

PS: If you middle mouse click on the hips joint it will select all child joints then you can add a key for all of them at once.  This way you can pose the whole character then select all joints, press F9 key and it will hold the pose.  I always recommend selecting all joints and making sure they are frozen with the (Freeze All) command from the coords menu from the bottom of the object manager to the right of the UI.  This way when you wish to reset to the original pose with ease using the PSR command..

Dan