Sign in to follow this  
SwoopNebula

Powerful Character Rigging Plugins?

Hey, so I'm new to character rigging and animating characters is there any plugin out there that will allow me to spead of the process of animating and rigging a character in c4dr17? I know of bendy limbs, but are there any others out there you would recommend for a beginner who's actually getting into professional work.

Hi

Aside from the Character tool that comes with your version of C4D there is a premium rig by Ace studios found here 

As for animating Mixamo is your easy choice as it can rig and animate.  You have the options to use the Non Linear Animation tools in C4D to put motion clips together for a complete animation.  If you head over to CGDreamsTuorials on youtube there is a video I made that shows you how to use this system in depth.

There is also a auto rigger that makes it a bit easier to rig called IKMax  from here.

You can store poses uses Nitropose from here.

Also to make weighting easier you can use what is now free a pluging called Deltamush from here.  This helps with the defrormation of limbs to smooth out the transition for areas that are hard to weight.

In R21 there is a new rig preset for mixamo which makes the process even easier as well as better weighting methods. In R21  you also get the PSD morphs which came in after your version you have.   If I think of anything else Il come back.

Dan

I will reiterate Dan's first point above - The Character Builder is exactly the tool you need - it is easy character animation for beginners.

As actual character animation is one of the hardest things to do in 3D those skills are best left until last, but the Character tools very effectively bridge the gap.

I'd start with all the C4D cafe tutorials on our Youtube Channel for that. They're in the Animation playlist.

CBR