Sign in to follow this  
SwoopNebula

Weighting Disaster

Hey peeps, so i'm trying to get my character to the point where I can animate it from within c4d? 

I'm having a major dilema thats driving me crazy, after going throught the process of rigging this thing, when I get to the animate tab and try to move things around

the shirt and other things bend all out of whack......i'm fairly new to c4d. What have ai done wrong? is there an easier way I can go about animating this? 

i tried uploading to mixamo but i keep getting an error message.

Screen Shot 2019-10-28 at 6.46.48 PM.png

Edited by Cerbera
Moved to Correct Section

You not alone. I've been struggling for months and it never seems to get easier. But what I have learned is you can use the weight mapping brush to smooth, add, subtract the weight maps. And you can shift click on the weight map tag and smooth individual bones and control the parametric influence. There are a lot of thing switched on automatically which might stop the weight brush working. The tool is really sensitive so it is like 00.3 on the pressure or it will fly off out of control. It seems like a very difficult task to do. Would like more advice on this.

HI, the setting i usually use to paint the weights are: Projection on,Auto normalize on, the strength  and hardness to about 25% that will depended on if you add , deduct the weights or simply equalising the weights. Also for  a high polygon count mesh that need smoothing in between joints i use Smooth setting on low strength 10% .

• Topic Author
  • I've tried weighting...it's worked for getting out parts of the hair and face that are being pulled along with the joints but not really for the way the mesh of the shirt clashes when folded upon itself. Below i've provided a file to the project, hopefully someone can help me figure it out.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/13vuv6ifb9XaKUMKYjPKFqARd3zfO_4Rc/view?usp=sharing