Sign in to follow this  
Tim Whiteman

Control 2 car doors with single slider?

Hi Cinema 4D friends,

I am just starting out trying to learn Xpresso and have managed some very basic success so far. I have looked everywhere for a feature that I need to learn, but am really struggling to find a solution. I have set up a user data controller to be able to control different parts of a car. I have managed to set it up to have a slider for the left and right doors to open independently with a slider using the Range Mapper node, but I would like to be able to create a slider to control both doors opening together. I have tried most approaches and nothing seems to work? I have even tried to copy the existing "left door open" node tree to a newly named user data slider, but that doesn't seem to work either? It seems that you can only have one control slider per null object?

If there are any kind folks who know a way of me solving this, I would be most grateful. Even if it is just pointing me in the right direction to find a good tutorial or something.

Thank you for reading!

Simply use 2 range mapper nodes linked to both doors with different rotation values...

(link user data slider to both range mapper nodes ofcourse)

• Topic Author
  •  

Thank you for your reply. I think you mean this don't you?

Screen.thumb.jpg.bd58ce2eac9fcce757bd85fe7c01038f.jpg

I've tried that and it doesn't work. Strangely, even if I copy the same Range Mapper and Door Left as a duplicate (to test) and try adding it to the "Doors Both" control, that doesn't work either?

Screen2.thumb.jpg.1d642f25f748773ad0cc944880fe4e2e.jpg

yes, this way...

...here simplified xpresso

door_opening_xp.c4d

range mapper need tranfer values from percentage values to degrees. Since rotation of both doors are different, also values in range mappers need to be different.

And everything is based on axis position of objects...

1 hour ago, Tim Whiteman said: