Sign in to follow this  
Lucy Bradbury

Rigged Mixamo Character interact w.scene

Hello! 

I am fairly new to Cinema4D and trying to get a better understanding of mixamo character rigging and what's possible with it.

What I am trying to animate is a rigged mixamo character walking up a spiral staircase (which I've modelled). How do I link the walk cycle to the staircase so it follows the steps?

There are a lot of tutorials on using the constraint tag to parent objects to rigged characters but I don't know best practice for having rigged characters interacting with the scene. 

I have had a little look over the new mixamo control rig in R21 - if there is a better way to rig in this version, i'll download it as I've been trying to solve this problem for a while!

Would be good to get your advice!

Cheers,

Lucy

25 minutes ago, Lucy Bradbury said:

Hello! 

I am fairly new to Cinema4D and trying to get a better understanding of mixamo character rigging and what's possible with it.

What I am trying to animate is a rigged mixamo character walking up a spiral staircase (which I've modelled). How do I link the walk cycle to the staircase so it follows the steps?

There are a lot of tutorials on using the constraint tag to parent objects to rigged characters but I don't know best practice for having rigged characters interacting with the scene. 

I have had a little look over the new mixamo control rig in R21 - if there is a better way to rig in this version, i'll download it as I've been trying to solve this problem for a while!

Would be good to get your advice!

Cheers,

Lucy

Hi

The control rig in R21 will make a significant difference as unlike previouse versions of C4D you now have a way to control a Mixamo animation, Il explain further.