Sign in to follow this  
Boomba

RTX Titan or 2 RTX 2080 ti?

so let's say my company is building me a new machine for C4D/After Effects.

We are going with the 32 Core Threadripper AMD just announced and 64GB RAM, but undecided on the video card. 

What are your thoughts on a GPU for C4D?

I am coming from the old Mac Trashcan, so I never had the Nvidia option and everything will be an upgrade.

I see the RTX Titan has 24GB of RAM.

I was thinking of getting 2 RTX 2080 Ti (11GB RAM each)

I have not used Redshift yet, but now that I will be able to have a GPU renderer, I am excited about the idea, but don't know whether there are any speed advantages to splitting the workload between cards or not?

I hear SLI-linking the 2 cards is not worth it anymore?

Any help would be appreciated, I am a total PC newb, this will be my first.

Thanks

Hi

I use Redshift and 1 single 20180ti so cant comment about having two cards, I guess you need to weigh up the cost and power consumption as well as horse power. Nvlink is the new way forward, SLI is of no use to you.  Redshift are doing things with Nvilink which will combine two cards memory in which you get most not all of the combined memory.  I would suggest you head over to Redshift forum and ask this question as your bound to get a more  answers as to that combo.  

As you can see in this artical the 2080ti is not that far behind the RTX Titan.

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/articles/Redshift-2-6-22-NVIDIA-Titan-RTX-Performance-1325/

The RTX Titan is over double the cost of the 2080ti, I cant at this point imagine how there could be any advantage in a RTX Titan over 2 2080ti other than maybe heat, and less power consumption, and double the ram, these are things your need to look at.  If you need 24gb now then there is no other option, but if you can wait to see how nvlink pans out, and what are the gotchas which Im sure there will be a few.

Here is a link I think may help answer some Nvlink questions.