Sign in to follow this  
Michael Müller

Rename dozens of layers using a CSV file

Hello there, 

I'm pretty new to c4d and python scripting so I don't even know if what I want to do is possible in theory, though it sounds somewhat plausible.

I have an excel list with 300 names and need all of them as MoText Elements. As each MoText is combined with several other Elements, which are all under one Null, I thought about renaming the Nulls and using their name as a driver for the MoText-text.

Hierarchy of my c4d file:

Null.1

->MoText (child of Null.1)

->Fancy-Element (child of Null.1)

Null.2

->MoText (child of Null.2)

->Fancy-Element (child of Null.2)

and so on..

Example of my .csv file:

Dennis,John,Markus...

I want to use ".1(2,3 etc.)" as an indicator of which name to grab from the .csv file. Maybe there is a way to import the .csv as a string and be able to split it with the comma as a separator, so you can get access to each name individually and globally replace all Null-names.

Null.1 -> Dennis

Null.2 -> John

Null.3 -> Markus

and so on

is this possible and how complicated would it be to write a script for that?

Thanks in advance!

Michael 

Sure, this is possible and shouldn't be complicated.

There's really only this one line in the CSV?

And all you want is the Nulls renamed?

Wouldn't it be more efficient, to build the entire hierarchy based on the CSV?

Also it's always helpful to provide a scene for testing, when asking for scripts or alike. This can remove a lot of ambiguity and also spares the developer the need to setup her/his own scene (which the may already be a wrong basis and misleading).

Anyway, I'll be back...

Cheers

This would be a pretty cool script and could have some nice potential features. For jumpstarting ideas and getting your scene sort of pre-organized. I would definitely be interested in something like this too.