Sign in to follow this  
bbuxton

The end of MSA

Since September I have been repeatedly receiving emails from MAXON and TMSMedia trying to persuade me to give up my perpetual license in exchange for a discount on a 2 year subscription. I feel a bit stupid as the math just does not add up. Am I missing something important? I'm not trying to start a problem thread, my local reseller is Japanese and language is a barrier as my Japanese is very limited, as is their English. I have been using Cinema 4D for more than 10 years but the advantage of subscription is very hard to see.

There is no way I would ever give up my perpetual license that's for sure for 2-3 hundred in savings.  MAXON's treatment of long time studio customers was ridiculous, but at least they did a good job with the portal.  I am liking the ability to easily move between multiple computers and have everything there how you left it.  The way forward for me probably is to get a new subscription, which might be a long while.  Let's hope they can convince me with awesome new features and their development speeds up. I'm still dissapointed they didn't get more in R21..integration of nodes with the rest of the app, xpresso, python.  There is a serious disconnect with that stuff, but I'm relatively happy and still here.  They could have so many more customers if they had chosen more reasonable pricing... like the yearly price but paid monthly or 12 month contract would have been pretty reasonable for a lot of hobbyists I think.  The true monthly cost is just too much.

Thank you.

I only have one PC so am not in a position to test that.

I use quite a few plugins and R21 broke every one of them. Still trying to get XFrog and HDR Lightstudio updated and it is more than 4 months already.

Sigh, I still don't quite understand why the discount for MSA users requires perpetual entitlement to be surrendered. Seems underhand, worse than the way Adobe and Autodesk managed the transition.