Sign in to follow this  

Hello everyone. 

Gabe here. I'm a digital designer who started working with 3d not until recently. 

I'm working on building a model of a bottle using loft but I can't seem to move past the neck. 

As the shape of the bottle is not a cylinder, I'm having a hard time trying to figure out how I can morph the rounded rectangular shape into a cylinder for the neck. 

When I try to loft the spline with a circle, it doesn't work.

I attached photo of the model that I've come so far.

Please let me know if you have any ideas. 

Thank you!

Screen Shot 2020-02-06 at 3.25.52 PM.png

PJbottletemplate.png

Edited by Cerbera
Retitled for accuracy / later search use

Don't worry this is easily sortable. If I had to guess I'd bet it's a spline order thing, and using a circle should totally work IF the order of splines in the OM is correct. But we can't see your setup from the screenshots (ie the order of the splines, or what they are etc, so we'll be needing the scene file if we are to correct this for you. Pls upload the c4d file. 

CBR

• Topic Author
  • Thank you so much for your prompt response. highly appreciated!

I tried moving the splines around within the loft but still couldn't make it work.

Attached is my C4D file. 

if you could make the correction would be amazing! 

thank you.

PJbottle-mockup-body.c4d

Excellent - cheers for that - now we can see exactly what is going on, and TBH, there was a fair bit wrong with that...

1. Splines were in the wrong order

2. Circles were incorrectly rotated, hence the twisting you were getting...

3. Generally wrong settings in Loft Object

4. Uneven spline points in squarer splines giving irregular, off-centre shape

5. Segment count in Loft incorrect

6. Caps used in Loft (creates geometry you have to manually fix later)

7. Object not at World Centre, which makes consistent spline alignment more difficult

When we have fixed all those things we get something like this...