Sign in to follow this  
gaetan

Animation of a simple scene take 1 year+ to render because of hi-res textures

Hi,

I have a simple scene: a desert, a few rocks and mountains, and a couple of TVs in the middle.

I'm using high resolution textures for all of these, which make my rendering time go to 2 hours per frame, for a 3 minute 60fps video. If I remove all the textures, a frame take 2.5 minutes to render.

Apart from the TV screens and one basic camera pan, nothing is animated throughout the whole video. Is there anything I can do to "avoid" these textures and their displacement being re-calculated for each frame, since their position, lighting etc. do not ever change?

I'm still a beginner at C4D, and this is my first post here. Many thanks in advance.

I assume you mean "Materials" not "Textures" as you're talking about displacement as well.

Generally SPD is very, very slow in C4D Standard / Physical render. You can migitate that by reducing the number of subvisions in the material.

You can also make a seperate material with even lower or disabled displacement for objects that are further back in the scene.

Your third option would be to subdivide the geometry by hand and use the texture in the displacement channel of the materials as input for the displacer modifier. I had some success with this in the past as the render does not need to precalculate the subdivision every frame, instead it's already done in the scene. Makes the realtime preview a lot slower, but generally renders faster.

If you have a look at this tutorial I made about 20 min in you can see the time taken to calculate displacements. Now if you have higher levels and multiple materials that will give long render times. in the vid I will post after I used a displace deformer then baked the displacement. Memory consumption is very high but renders are way way faster as no calculations are needed.

• Topic Author