Sign in to follow this  
slackermorris

possible approaches to modelling a sea mine

Hi there,

I am wondering if anyone would have any advice in how to best approach modelling a sea mine object. I have tried various methods, but I always get to the same point: I can't get the pegs (the spikes) to deform to the mine body the way I want. Does anyone have any advice in how to best implement this object? Thanks for all your help.

Sorry I am new to cinema4D and even newer still to this forum so am unsure what other information I should include.. 

NB: the picture below is of another artists sea mine render. I am using it for reference.

sea mine.jpg

Not surprised you are struggling - this looks like quite a simple modelling proposition, but actually isn't.  In fact to model this as a single mesh would require a relatively wide range and knowledge of assorted modelling techniques, but as the spikes are separate objects in the real world, that is how we should model them as well, which certainly makes things easier.

So, with that said there are 2 main parts to this - modelling the hatch in the main shell, which you should do based on one of the polar sections of a standard sphere. And the spikes, which you can clone on to the surface of a helper sphere object if you can find one with the right distribution of points, and then adjust the Z position of those to better match your mine.

As for how to achieve the curvature on the bases, that is best done right at the start of their creation (which should begin with a disc object) using subdivision and deformers, either double bend objects at 90 degree offsets from each other, or maybe an FFD or even something like the wrap deformer with suitable settings... or you could even project your disc onto the sphere.

CBR

• Topic Author
  • Author of the topic Posted