Animation capabilities in c4d

Hello

I am very new to c4d and I was wondering how is cinemas rigging and animation of realistic characters compared to other software, Its something I would really like to get into, everywhere I looked, it seems that cinema4d is not really used for it, with both industry and indie, and that's why I am wondering If it's better to learn another piece of software and create a combined workflow, or if c4d is capable of doing the same things the other software on the market is doing?

Thank you very much!

I would say while it is definitely possible to achieve the same results as in other software, Cinema is not the best for character animation in it's vanilla state. Though with some plugins (mostly Demusher, animtools, anitools and Nitropose) you can get pretty much on par with the other DCC apps. One thing that is a bit weak in C4D though is the animation layer system, it's UI is honestly pretty badly integrated and sometimes it's just buggy

You might want to take a look at Bomper Studios colin rig that is currently available for download and try around a bit with it, then you can see that great rigging is also possible in C4D, there are just not as many tutorial resources as for other apps

By now I am getting nice results in Cinema and I use it mostly because it offers a great deal of artistic freedom and ease of use and I prefer to do as much as possible in one software. You can definitely put Cinema (animationwise [with plugins]) on the same level as 3DSMAX, Blender or Houdini. But if you are really concentrated on character animation and this is basically the thing you focus on the most, then Maya is probably what you want to learn, not only because it offers a broad set of animation features but also because it can get you a job more easy as it is industry standard for character animation. And it has animbot, the most excessive plugin animation tool palette in the world