Help me model this robot. Problem with extrusions on curved surface.

Hi all,

New here, seems like a great ressource.

I'm new to C4D, and trying to model this robot as a challenge.

Robot.thumb.png.95fcded301dddc93b6de56656f2bf1b1.png

I've been following this tutorial, explaining how to do a "180° cut" to have clean edges and angles on curved surface extrusions. My problem is that the outer corners of my extrusions are still not that clean.  After A LOT of tweaking, I still have some minor but visible artefacts / shadows around the corners.

1/ Can someone take a look and tell me what they think about my geometry (I attached my file and some screenshots) ? Am I being too concerned over small details ?

2/ Can someone criticize my process ?

- I started from half an hexahodron sphere. And worked in symmetry.

- For the "middle eye", I selected the edges of the polygons I wanted to extrude down and straightened them one by one using the scale tool. Then I inner extruded the area. Extruded it down. Shaped it using the move tool for the bottom part. Set up my 180 cut all around. Beveled or used control cuts on the edges I wanted to sharpen.

- For the "side eyes", I selected the area, inner extruded it. Extruded it down. Used the slide tool to shape it the right way (gave up on the bottom corners). Set up my 180 cut. Beveled or used control cuts on the edges I wanted to sharpen.

- For the "horns" on the head I was planning on using another object. Maybe by splitting off part of the sphere.

- For the body I was planning on starting from a cylinder. And extruding to create the arms and other details.

Thank you in advance for your help,

Screenshot 2020-07-21 at 20.44.08.png

Screenshot 2020-07-21 at 20.44.18.png

robot_test.c4d

• I would have started with the inner sphere, and extruded out from that, which would have been less work overall.