How to make integral/living hinge

Hello,

I'm currently fighting with C4D trying to make what I thought should be fairly simple - an integral/"living" hinge, like in the picture below, but without any of the detail - I just need a smooth curve between two surfaces that will hinge nicely.

So I drew the profile with a spline and extruded it. I then made it editable, created some joints, then bound it. I tried using the weight tool to clumsily paint some weights, but for some reason the "Joints" section in the weight tool's attributes never appears, so it's impossible to tell C4D which joint I'm painting weights for. And I don't really want to just do freehand painting of weights - I'd prefer to just say "that joint -> those points". And C4D ignores my paint strokes anyway - selecting various joints or the model shows various colours, then I paint, and the weight-colours change....and then immediately change back to whatever the colours were before I started painting, and nothing changes.

So plan B - pose morphs. But despite fighting with the promising-looking 'Mixing' controls, with tempting things like "Rotational" (I want the points of the object to rotate to their new positions as the hinge is rotated, not go in a straight line), changing those settings made no difference - it was always a linear move between the different poses.

Does anyone have any better suggestions how I can accomplish what I thought would be something fairly simple? I'm getting rather miffed at C4D's lack of co-operation.

Many thanks in advance for any suggestions!

01-livingHinge.jpg

Probably not I'd say, if OP made this from a spline, so geo is likely to be awful and unsuitable for a) rigging and b) bending unless special attention was paid to that. For there to be any chance of that working caps in the Extrude would have to be set to regular grid or delaunay, and spline interpolation would probably need altering to uniform or similar.