Adding Donut Sprinkles faster

Go to solution Solved by Cerbera,

• Gold Contributor

Hello all! Your favorite newbie here - Not sure if this is the right forum to post this in, but if I got it wrong please let me know.

I want to put sprinkles on a donut but it is taking a LIFETIME to do it manually. Literally, I think i'll be dead before I finish adding them all.

I want to add like 100 little spheres all around the donut. Is there a faster way to do something like this?

God no, don't be placing those manually ! That's what the cloner is for !

Make your little sphere (or perhaps several variations of it) a child under a cloner, and set that to Object and surface mode. Drag your donut into the object field in the cloner, set the count (use the spinners to get higher than 100 if needed) and your spheres' will cover it in a random pattern, which you can change with the seed parameter in the cloner. You can also restrict the area where the sprinkles go by defining a poly selection using 'set selection' and dragging the tag that creates into the seletcion field of the cloner. On top of that you can also add effectors to the cloner like push -apart or random effectors to further influence how the things appear and get distributed. Lots of tutorials on youtube for c4d cloner scattering, and that's the search term you need.

Additional tips would be to use render instance or multi instance mode of cloner, and to keep your sphere geo nice and low poly (and use hexaspheres rather than standard) so you don't slow the app down with loads of clones of it. But with multi-instances you can actually have millions of clone sin the scene without choking. Manual has a lot more info on those special modes and is well worth a read so you understand what limitations apply.

CBR