Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

supafraud

Exporting camera moves to shake

Hey, I'm new to shake, just got the 30 day trial to check it out and seee if it's worth getting (once the universal binary version 4.1 comes out of course) and I use cinema 4d for all of my 3d stuff. Is there a way to get my camera info from cinema 4d into shake? cinema 4d has this option in the render settings to save a shake file, but i think it's only for multipass stuff and not camera info. Also, as of yet I cannot get it to work. I go to open the .shk file that cinema 4d creates and it apears to be empty. Please help asap (my trial runs out soon and the money man wants to see results) thanks!

Hi

the output to shake is just a compositing file, it doesn't copy the camera move across like to AE(as far as I know)

I've just thought of a possible way you could do it, though I cant try it because we tried the 30 day trial of 3.5 and I'm not sure we can now do the 30 day trial of 4(though I might give it a go). You know that if you select a node in shake, copy it and then paste in a text editor you see all the node parameters as text. You could take your camera in c4d, do postion track to spline, export that spline as ascii(via structure manager), then either manually transfer positions or possible get applescript or automator to do it for you. Then copy all that text back into the node area of shake, which should in theory then have all the camera data set up for you. That would do for postion, I'm not sure how you would do Rotation though. Just an idea.

Trig

I didn't know that about the nodes (copy and paste) So is that the easiest way? I read over at creative cow that shake will only import camera data from maya ascii files... ...is there a way to convert one of the export options to that ma format? Otherwise, if this method works, maybe just write something that does that.

Hi