Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest Somnifer

Hanging Chain & Gravity

Guest Somnifer
  • Topic Author
  • Hi guys,

I'm trying to make a hanging chain between two poles, something like the image I've added in this post.

Modelling this as a static image is easy, and poses no problem, but I don't know how to make it interact with the poles;

I want the curve of the chain to adjust itself (to sag realistically) when I move the poles further apart or closer together.

I'm guessing it has something to do with gravity of maybe bones, but since I have no experience whatsoever whith both....

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Mocca Soft IK is one way. Another way is to use spline dynamics from the hair module. You then have your chain constrained to the spline with something a MoGraph splinewrap deformer.

I would use spline dynamics as they are very fast calculating and it would be easier to set up than Soft IK. We've got a tutorial on using Soft IK for something like similar.

3DKiwi

Guest Somnifer
  • Topic Author
  • Thanks for the suggestions! I'll check them both out, see what results I get (Downloading the tutorial as I write...)

Guest Somnifer
  • Topic Author
  • I just set up a small scene with a dangling chain (using mocca soft IK)...

The dynamics are working OK, but my chainlinks are getting deformed :-(

Guess I'm doing something wrong, but I can't seem to figure out what it is....

Guest Squirrel
  • Topic Author
  • In the Object tab of the first bones attributes (The one listed right under the "chain" null), change the "Function" attribute to "1/r^10". Hopefully that fixes it.

Try making the links child objects of the bones. Then on each link give it a "Stop" tag and enable deformers. This prevents them from deforming.

3DKiwi

Guest Somnifer
  • Topic Author
  • At first i tried setting the function to 1/r^10. This helped a bit, but there still was some slight deformation...