Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

morpheus

Arch Wip's

• Topic Author
  • Hey peeps

I've landed a small bit of Architectural visualization work which is a bit different to what I usually do with cinema.

I am just looking for some advice on how to start and have a few questions to any arch vis modellers out there.

I have some plans (PDF's not Cad files) I have laid them out in cinema at the scale I want, etc... How would you usually start? Create a plane and knife cut in the shape of the walls? Trace out splines from the plans to extrude into walls later?

How much of it is one mesh. Are the walls connected to the floor or are they a separate mesh?

There are quite a few curved walls in the design of the building. Does this affect the approach to modelling?

Any other advice you think would be useful would be much appreciated.

GLUG! GLUG! GLUG!!! (That's me in the deep end again... laugh.gif )

Cheers

Morph

i am far from an expert on Architectural stuf, wish i was cause i like it!

i usually build it seperatley, make the walls, floors etc, with the plans like yours you can trace with splines and just extrude the walls, seems logical to to me, be interesting to see what the comments are to see if im doing it all wrong......probably! i want some Architectural freelance work!!!

Good luck, be sure to post wippity wips

ha ha, good luck morpheus. :welcome:

I would construct the building in my cad program, then import to C4d to do the landscaping, lighting, add furniture, rendering etc.

it's definately harder work doing arch viz from scratch in c4d.

the few times i've done walls in c4d is to size a cube to my wall length, height, and thickness - knife cut and remove polys for doors and windows, but as i say, usually have my building constructed before opening c4d

• Topic Author