Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest dynamike

.obj Material Problem

Guest dynamike
  • Topic Author
  • Hi!

I've purchased a starfighter model as an .obj fil with the accompanying .mtl file.

However, when I try to load the obj file into c4d it loads the model with blank or greyed out materials.

I've even tried to import the object using the Riptide plugin but without success.

Any other ideas. BTW. I'm a C4D newbie

kind regards and thanks in advance for any advice

That's the way OBJ import works. The MTL file only carries the name of the material and the polygons to which it applies. You have to go through the materials in C4D and set them up as you want. This is all you can expect, as how would the OBJ file know what application it was being loaded into, as each app has a different way of creating materials and textures.

Guest dynamike
  • Topic Author
  • ok, well then the material file is damaged or something. Because it does import the material names but the materials themselves are all grey or white (when the should be in colour and/or with a texture) right?

Guest MilesBaskett
  • Topic Author
  • the mtl file just tells where the textures would go, you need more than just the mtl, but texture maps as well.

The .mtl file does indeed contain color and texture filename information - it's a text file, just open it up in a text editor and have a look.

If it looks like it should be setting up some colors (other than grey), then Riptide must not be finding the .mtl file (or if you're using Riptide Pro, you may have channels disabled in the Import Options Dialog). The name of the .mtl file that Riptide looks for is found inside the .obj file - which is also a text file - look for a line like this:

mtllib somefilename.mtl

...Riptide will look for "somefilename.mtl" in the same folder as the .obj file it's loading.