Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest customone

Using Veneer Wood Patterns

Guest customone
  • Topic Author
  • Hello all,

I am an architectural woodworker and i design furniture as well as other products. our furniture is primarily veneered and highly decorative in nature. we haven't chosen a software as of yet but am leaning toward cinema 4d as opposed to modo. Haven't a clue how to use either one but i'm a fast learner..

so... my question is to you master 3d folks is ,can cinema 4d design highly decorative furniture? can i add my veneer textures to surfaces? will i be able to add high gloss finishes to the finished product. i've attached a photo of what i'm talking about. the picture is a veneer lay up designated to be a 4 foot round table. Actually i've added several lay ups .

also ... if anyone is looking for wood grain textures which are highly decorative and can use them in your drawing please fell free to ask.

Hi and welcome :)

can cinema 4d design highly decorative furniture?

Yes but so can other 3D apps. It's more down to user skill and talent. We had a dining suite challenge here last year. Check out the 3 winning images here done by cafe members.

can i add my veneer textures to surfaces?

Yes. Dead easy. Here's a 30 second table with one of your images applied. We have tutorials here showing you how to apply images as textures to objects.

Hope this helps. Although I also use modo I would strongly urge you to go with C4D. It's a lot easier to learn than modo. modo is a powerful modeller but best suited to people with a few years experience under their belt.

3DKiwi

Guest customone
  • Topic Author
  • All i can say is WOW........ you put that table together is 30 seconds? would of taken me all day.

yes , I am aware of other 3d apps and am currently using ashalr velllum cobalt. it's adequate. but lacks rendering quality.

How would i find those texture tutorials? Also thanks for the heads up on modo.