Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

morpheus

Motion Tracking

• Topic Author
  • So I really want to get on with some proper motion and camera tracking.

I am a single designer so can't afford the really pricy ones and I am also on a mac which means some of the free ones aren't usable.

What are my options from what people might have used before?

I don't need to track any sort of HD sources quite yet, so it doesn't have to be as high end as that.

Cheers for some advice.

Morph

Guest Joshfilms

Motion tracking or 3D tracking?

For 3D tracking SynthEyes is by far the best bang for the buck. For 2D tracking AE CS4 with Mocha AE will do just fine. If you don't have AE then you can get the standalone version of Mocha.

-Josh

• Topic Author
  • Yeah, I meant 3D tracking so I can put C4D objects into scenes and track stuff to people in 3D.

I will have a look at syntheyes and see what prices we are talking.

I don't have CS4 myself yet, but have used it at some studios before. It's on my "to buy" almost right at the top along with Mograph.

Morph

EDIT: Well $400 don't sound too bad. I am going to get the trial and play over xmas. Yay.

Thanks for the advice Josh.

Now I just need to make some 3D models for the Jedi powers to begin.

I have wanted to try some motion tracking with DPIT Effex too to see what flame effects I can get out of my hands etc...

Guest Joshfilms

Yeah, SynthEyes is a great deal it's a industry standard app. When I get some time I'll be tracking in some T4D simulations into live footage.

-Josh

• Topic Author
  • Kewl.

I have been wanting to see if I can recreate the kind of smoke in that dome headed guy from Hellboy 2. Tracking would help me put it into a shot of some kind.

Morph

EDIT: Well the 64bit disc image of the demo won't mount. I sent a query to support and am now trying the 32bit version to see if that works. Bah....Humbug!