• “Great art picks up where nature ends.”  Marc Chagall 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

octave

Zoom issue, object wrapping on a cone and varnish texture thickness!

• Topic Author
  • Hi everyone,

I'm new in the 3D community and have a tons of questions! I'm currently trying to model a fly fishing rod (photos attached).

My first question is:

Do I have to use real measurements, because a rod is about 1 cm large? I tried to do this with a cone with an height of 200cm, a bottom radius of 0.6 cm and top radius of 0.2 cm. The problem is that I have to zoom in a lot to see details and then it's very hard to be precise with the zoom. Would it be easier to work by multiplying each value per 10 or 100, or is it a better way which allows to keep real value?

My second question is:

What is the best way to wrap a logo text or cork rings around a cone (not a cylinder)? (like in the photo attached)

And my last question is:

What is the best way to reproduce varnish thicknesses variations on the rod?

Hope it is clear enough. Thanks for your time.

post-100874-0-74297000-1294155640_thumb.

post-100874-0-30908100-1294155649_thumb.

Yeah. default dimensions can cause lots of navigation issues... You could try modeling your object in a different scale (factors of 10) until you're comfortable with moving around the viewport. Then you can scale it down again when you're done. It's what I often do when I've got several objects in the scene. (Just be aware that scaling objects (the S values in the object's Coordinate tab in the Attribute Manager) isn't the same as scaling the mesh itself. I think other people in the cafe can explain this better.)

Regarding varnish... it can get tricky. C4D doesn't have a built-in clearcoat material so you'll probably have to experiment with several materials.

The Banji shader has a lot of good options for transparent objects.