Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest tommyk

How Do You Make A Library?

Guest tommyk
  • Topic Author
  • ok, I'm new here (so hello :]) and I'm also new to c4d.

Basically, I am making a library of items like the presets found in c4d. I have made a new library in the content browser and that all works fine. I have also added some objects to it. These objects are made by grouping a series of objects and then "save current state to object". This results in a polygon. I then save the scene, and then add the .c4d to the library.

The problem is, I cant just drag and drop to a scene. It opens the item up in its own scene, then I have to copy and paste it. How do I do that?

Thanks,

Tom

Drag and drop works fine here.

File menu/ Merge is maybe what you need.

One thing to check is that you don't have Single click open activated. Right click any of the thumbnails in the content browser and deselect Single click open. In my case at least, some object only get added if you drag them onto the Object manager. The problem could be a combination of this and the Single click open option. Some objects seem to be added when dragged to either the Viewport or the object manager.

I'm a bit puzzled about some objects only being added if dragged to the object manager and some opening when dragged to the viewport. Someone clear this up for me.

Are you looking for something like this? - http://www.c4dcafe.com/ipb/index.php?showtopic=60334

urban_h:

I made a mini tutorial (60sek) how to make a lib4d file for Content Browser the ZIP file is 2,9MB and you can download it here: http://www.teamformsvacka.se/lib4d/

/ urban

@ James,

From a quick test.

Most custom objects saved to a User Library seem to be placed into an open scene when dragged into the Object Manager.

Materials can also be added.