Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

GaryAbrehart

Modo Vs C4D Modelling

• Topic Author
  • I keep hearing and seeing how C4D users are using modo for a lot of their modelling. I have been using C4D constantly for the past four years and find the tools do everything I want. Admittedly I haven't modelled intricate carvings or used the scultping tools (just started learning this) it's mostly hard surface modelling (vechicles, logos, packaging, buildings etc).

So for those of you that do use modo is it really that much better?

So for those of you that do use modo is it really that much better?

Sometimes. I've sold my modo licence as the modelling tools in C4D finally seem to be getting some love. While some of the modelling tools in modo are superior some of them are just awful. modo's guide system is dreadful. It's snapping system needs redesigning.

What is superior is: modelling falloffs (although Nitroman has just brought out a new falloff plugin that does more or the same), Pixar Sub-D's, Retopology, More flexible bridge tool (segments etc) plus a few others.

Hope this helps.

3DKiwi

3DKiwi nailed it down!

I also sold my Modo license!

• Topic Author
  • Are you both refering to C4D R14 or R15? I can see you both list using R15 but it's only been out two months…