Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

flippyfloop

What monitor setup do you use & why ?

• Topic Author
  • I'm currently changing my setup from imac to pc.

Looking into what type of monitor setup.

I was using my imac 27" but now trying to decide between a 27" or 2 x 24".

I thought I would go straight for 27" again because that's what I've been using for the past 3 years but I've been using a single old viewsonic 24" & quite like it. Text & panels are larger & find I'm not leaning forward to read stuff as much. Another 24" for viewport would be sweet plus if one monitor goes down, I can keep working.

Looking at Dell u2413 but hear that it has bad motion ghosting. Seems to be the case with all wide gamut monitors in this price bracket. Maybe one of these for colour specific tasks & another gaming monitor with low response time for motion ?

I will be using my setup for C4D, AE, PS & brush. Really into motion graphics, animation & compositing.

I seem to be going around in circles, so…… I would love to hear from you guys  :thumbsup:

What monitor setup & models do you use & why ?

I use a 27" for main C4D gui and an old 22" alongside for XPresso.

I strongly recommend the 2 x 24 option. Once you get set up correctly you will never go back.

I have three in use at one time.

The rightmost has nothing to do with C4D, it has my tasks, start bar, etc and then any internet activity I may need - like looking up things on the Cafe!!!!!

The center one has only the views, iether the four windows or one.

The left one has all the windows that I like to keep open; Objects, Attributes, Materials, Coordinates,Snap, and Help.

When you get set up correctly use Window>Customization>Save as Startup Layout and then every time your start C4D you will have that setup.

Like right now I am writing this on the rightmost screen and have C4D on the other two so I can refer to what I am writing about.